Journal Ideas

Journal Ideas.png

If you’re anything like me, you love journals and notebooks.  But, one problem I always have when I get a new journal or notebook is that I don’t know what to write in it.  This situation is frustrating and can lead to me having a big stack of empty journals.

If this sounds like you, then you’re in the right place.  Today, I’m going to share with you some of my ideas for what to write in your journal.  Some of these I have done and loved, and others are ideas that I want to try for myself in the future!

Diary

I wanted to stat out with the most obvious one first.  That is to use your journal as diary.  Jotting down your thoughts and feelings at the end of each day is a great way to get your thoughts down while creating a place that you can look back on when you’re older to remember the things you did.

Positivity notebook

Being positive can be difficult sometimes, so one idea I’ve played around with is to have a journal/notebook that’s dedicated to positive things.  You can fill it with stories of things that happened in your day that made you feel good, quotes that inspire you, lists of songs/movies to listen to/watch when you’re feeling down, etc.

List of quotes

When I’m reading, I constantly run across phrases, sentences, and passages that I love and want to remember.  Having a journal filled with a list of your favorite quotes can be a great, easy way to have a place that you can go when you want to reread them or refresh your memory of the ones you’ve forgotten.

Idea journal

If you’re creative, chances are you get a lot of ideas for projects.  Sometimes, these ideas don’t have anything to do with things you’re currently focusing on.  Instead of just forgetting, them, write them down in a journal that’s dedicated to the random ideas you get.

To-do lists

As hateful as to-do lists can be, having one place for them can keep them organized and prevent you from loosing them.  So, use one of your journals as a place for all of your to-do lists.

Lists of goals

This one is similar to the to-do lists journal, but, instead of lists of things you need to do every day, have a journal dedicated to your big goals for the future.

Travel journal

Keep a journal dedicated to the places you’ve been or the places you want to go.  Plan out a trip or list the places you visited during one you went on recently.  Glue maps, ticket stubs, and whatever other souvenirs you can put on the pages.

Writing notes

If, like me, you’re a writer, having one place for all of your writing notes can be really helpful.  If you are working on multiple stories, you can color-code things like the color of the pen you use for headers to keep the notes for each story separate.  If you’re interested in learning how I organize my writing notebooks, leave a comment, and I’ll be sure to do a post all about it!  I also have a video on how I write that has a little information about my notebooks.

Those are my ideas!  Let me know in the comments what you use your journals for, I’d love to know.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

