Self-care Tips

Self-care Tips.png

The last couple of weeks for me have been stressful, busy, and just all-around crazy.  During times like that, it’s tempting to push yourself as much as you can and say you’ll rest once you have more time.  But, one thing I have learned recently is that it’s super important to take care of yourself during the chaotic times, not just when everything’s going your way.  I know I have a problem with this, and I’m sure other people do, too.

So, I thought that, for today’s post, I would give you some tips for self-care.  Some of these tips are things you can do right away for a few minutes to feel more relaxed right away.  Others are things to keep in the back of your mind and try to do over a longer period of time.

I hope you enjoy this post!

  • Follow social media accounts that make you happy.  Social media can be stressful at the best of times.  If, like me, you still like going on it despite the negativity that’s almost always there, make sure you fill your feed with accounts/people that make you happy.  Follow Instagrams filled with pictures of cute puppies and follow someone on Twitter that’s inspiring and positive.
  • Take some time to put on some calming music, get comfy, and read a good book.  If it’s a sunny day outside, I would really suggest reading outside.  If not, curl up in bed and get lost in a good story.
  • Play a game/do a puzzle that calms you down and gets you out of your head.  For example, I love doing Sudoku, despite the fact that saying that makes me feel like an 80-year-old grandmother.  It’s something I can do while listening to music or watching Netflix, and it occupies my mind enough that any stressful/negative thoughts have trouble pushing their way in.
  • If you’re feeling particularly stressed about something, write down what’s going on and how you feel about it.  The action of getting those thoughts down on paper will help get the negativity out of your system, and you’ll feel so much better once you’re finished.
  • Watch something low-stress/happy on Netflix.  Some of the shows and movies I love that don’t stress me out too much are Parks and Recreation, Midnight in Paris, Narnia, Frasier, Leap Year, Heartland, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Drop Dead Diva, Gilmore Girls, Friends, and Sing Street.  (If you only watch one thing from this list, please watch Sing Street.  I watched it for the first time recently, and I’m obsessed.  It’s inspiring, and the music’s great.)
  • Exercise.  It’s not very fun while you’re doing it, but it’s really good for you and helps you feel happier and calmer.
  • Meditate.  This is good if you only have a few minutes to spare or you’re tired and don’t want to do something vigorous.  Also, you don’t have to spend a lot of time meditating to feel better.  I typically only meditate for 5 minutes at a time, but I always feel so much calmer afterwards.
  • Learn something new because you want to, not because you need to for school/your job.  Whether that’s a language you’ve always wanted to know or a topic you’re interested in but never learned about before.  Pick up a book or watch some videos and have some fun learning about something that excites you.
  • Learn to replace any negative thoughts that you have with positive ones.  This is so much easier said than done, but it’ll help in the long run.  One thing I try to do is, when I start to worry or feel bad, I’ll make a mental list of things that I’m grateful for, even if it’s as simple as having food to eat.
  • Pet an animal!  They’re cute, they’re fun, and they make you feel happy.  What more could you want.  (Pro-tip: bunnies are great for this.  I don’t know why they’re better than other animals at making you feel less stressed out, but they are.  Just trust me on this.)
  • Avoid things that stress you out.  Obviously, life is full of chaotic situations, but limiting the amount of unnecessary stress you expose yourself to is a good idea.
  • Get outside and enjoy nature.  Even if you just step out of the house to look at the sky.
  • Do something to take care of your appearance.  Take a hot bath, do a face mask, put some makeup on, or wear an outfit that makes you feel confident.
  • Treat yourself.  Buy something not because you need it but because you want it.  It doesn’t have to be expensive!
  • Listen to music that makes you want to get up and dance.  (I would suggest listening to Andy Grammer for this.  His music is always positive, upbeat, and has just the right amount of pop to make you want to get out of your chair and move.)
  • Take a moment to close your eyes and focus on your breathing.  Try to take even, deep breaths, and be still for a moment.
  • Take a walk/go on a run while listening to music.  This is a great way to get outside, get some exercise, and take some time to enjoy yourself.
  • Eat something healthy.  I know it’s tempting to eat only junk food when life is crazy, and, while there’s absolutely nothing wrong with treating yourself, eating something good for you can seriously make you feel better.
  • Drink plenty of water.  It’s literally necessary for life, and staying hydrated will make you feel better in all aspects.

Those are my tips!  Make sure to leave a comment below, and tell me things you do for self-care.  I would love to know!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

