What I’m Listening to While Writing #5

wiltww

Today’s blog post is going to be one in a series that I’ve been doing on this blog.  The series of blog posts is basically where I share some songs that I’ve put on my writing playlist and have been listening to recently.  I always love doing these, so I hope you enjoy it, too!

Break In by Halestorm

 

I have this song on my playlist, because it makes me feel sad.  That’s a pretty common theme with the music that I listen to while writing, because the story I’m working on is a little depressing.  Listening to it helps me get into the right head space for what I’m working on.  Also, a few of the lyrics remind me of certain parts of my story.

Oceans Brawl by Coeur De Pirate

This song is perfect for the story I’m writing, because it sounds a little fantastical (and my story is high-fantasy).  Also, the beginning of the novel is set on a ship.  The ocean sounds are perfect for that!

How You Remind Me by Avril Lavigne

This song is kind of sad and kind of angry which is perfect for the tone of my story.  (If you haven’t noticed a trend yet, most of the songs I listen to while writing this story are sad.)  Also, let’s be honest, Avril Lavigne is definitely the artist to go to when you want to feel angsty.

Til It Happens to You by Lady Gaga

I don’t typically listen to Lady Gaga, but I think this song is so beautiful.  It’s definitely sad like the other songs but still has an undercurrent of strength running through it.  That works well with my story, because (even though a lot happens to her and she makes some bad decisions because of that) my main character isn’t weak.

Atlas: Touch by Sleeping at Last

This song sticks with the theme of being sad, but it’s also a bit slower and less intense than the other songs.  Not every scene is action-packed, so sometimes it’s nice to listen to something that doesn’t make you want to jump into action.  This song is perfect for that!

Those are the songs I have been listening to recently!  Do you like to listen to music while you’re writing, or is it too distracting?  Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “What I’m Listening to While Writing #5

Leave a Reply

