Classics I Want to Read

I’ve read a lot of classics in my life.  They’re some of my favorite books to read, and there’s something special about reading a piece of writing created in a different time period.  One of the things that I consistently try to do is to read more classics.

So, for today’s blog post, I thought I would share with you a few of the classics that I want to read!

1984 by George Orwell

I love a good dystopian novel, and, since 1984 is one of the classics, it makes sense to read it.  I don’t know much of what the plot is about, but I do know that it’s supposed to be interesting and unsettling.

The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith

This is supposed to be a very psychological book, and I love stories with that element in them.  It sounds a bit different from the classics that I normally read, but that’s a good thing.  Getting out of my reading comfort zone is definitely something I want to do.  Reading this seems like a good and interesting way to do that!

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

I’m ashamed to say that I’ve never read anything by Shakespeare.  That’s something I need to fix, and I thought I would start with Romeo and Juliet.  It’s so influential to so many aspects of other literature/movies/stories in general that I think it would be a good book to begin with.

Dune by Frank Herbert

I don’t read a ton of sci-fi, but I always enjoy it when I do.  Dune is one of the most well known and best-selling sci-fi books of all time.  It’s high up on my TBR, and I’m excited to see what the story is like.  Hopefully I’ll enjoy it!

Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

The premise of this story is so intriguing.  It’s set in post-World War 1 England and follows Clarissa Dalloway as she gets ready for a party.  According to the description I read, you go back and forth in time and in and out of different characters’ minds.  That sounds like such a unique way of telling a story, so I’m interested to read it and see what I think!

There you have it!  These are only a few of the classics that I want to read, but we would be here all day if I tried to list them all.

Let me know what classics are on your TBR or if you’ve read any of these!  I would love to hear your thoughts!

Thanks so much for reading!

One thought on “Classics I Want to Read

Leave a Reply

