Favorite Reads of 2016

The holidays are here, and 2016 is coming to a close.  It’s that time of year where we look back and see all the things we’ve done, so, in the spirit of that, I thought I would share with you all the six best books that I’ve read this past year!

These won’t be in any particular order.  I’m just typing them in the order that I wrote the list in!  🙂

Without further ado, here are my favorite books of 2016!

1. The Martian by Andy Weir

This was the first book that I read in 2016, and it was probably the best.  It wasn’t quite what I was expecting when I first went into it, which made it even better.  I hadn’t seen the movie before reading this, so I only had a faint idea of what the story was about.  I also had no idea what the tone of this book would be like.

This book follows a man named Mark Watney who, after an accident, ends up stranded on Mars.  He’s all alone with no way to get in contact with Earth and very few resources.  The story is about his attempt to survive on Mars, and, somehow, make it back home.

This book is full of adventure.  It also is inspiring and filled with the greatest humor.  I wasn’t anticipating to be on the edge of my seat one minute and laughing out loud the next.  And I definitely didn’t expect that the ending would make me cry the way it did.

If you haven’t read this book yet, make it your first read of 2017.  I promise you won’t regret it.

2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I had heard about this book for a long time, as I’m sure many of you have as well, but this year was the first time that I decided to pick it up.  I’m so glad I finally made that decision.

The Book Thief is about a girl named Liesel who lives in Nazi Germany.  It shows what it’s like to live in Germany during that time period, which is something I had never read about before.  It follows Liesel’s life and the effects that the war has on it.  To make a great story even better, the narrator of the story is Death.  So, as you might be able to guess from that, this book breaks your heart.

This book is beautiful and heart-wrenching.  It’s one of those rare pieces of writing that leaves you different than you were before reading it.  It’s important and tragic.  And I adore it.

3. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight is the second book in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas.  I can’t really describe what this book is about, because the story evolves so much from the first book to this one that I would be spoiling basically all of Throne of Glass.  Just know that it’s a really great high-fantasy story.

I actually read Throne of Glass for the first time as well this year, but I liked Crown of Midnight so much better.  The first half was a little slow, but, once the story picked up, it was incredible.  There are certain things that happened halfway through this book that just destroyed me.  And that ending!  I still haven’t recovered.

4. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Nimona is a graphic novel, and it was actually the first graphic novel that I have ever read.  It was amazing!  The artwork was stunning, and the story was really great.  I wasn’t expecting so many feelings after finishing this!

The story follows a girl named Nimona who becomes the sidekick to Lord Blackheart, who is the story’s “villain”.  They are on a mission to prove that the Institution, which is kind of the ruling force in this world, isn’t as good as they seem to be.  As the story goes on, you learn more about Nimona’s past and Lord Blackheart’s relationship with the Institution, and, by the end, you’re left with something beautiful and sad at the same time.

This was such great read for my first graphic novel.  It was really easy to get into, and I quickly became invested in the story.  If you are new to graphic novels like me, this one is a great one to try.  Just make sure you have tissues handy.

5. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I’m sure no one is surprised to see this on my list, because this book has been getting so much hype recently.  And, as you might know, it has been turned into a movie, which I am so excited to see.  (Although I know I will cry the entire time!)

I don’t want to give too much of the story away, but I will say that this is a book that follows a boy whose mother is dying from cancer.  His struggling to deal with his grief.  One night, a monster comes to him and says that he’s there to help him.

This story portrays grief so beautifully and so honestly.  It deals with the anger and fear that comes with it, some things that I think are super important things that maybe people don’t talk about enough.  Besides the story, the illustrations are breathtaking and only add to the story.

Needless to say, I sobbed while reading this one.

6. The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

Of course I couldn’t make this list without including a book by Rick Riordan.  I read this book earlier this month, and it was just such a great book.  I don’t want to say much about this book’s story, because it is a sequel.  I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone.  Just know that it is the second book in Rick Riordan’s series Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, which is based on Norse mythology.

The Hammer of Thor was action-packed, hilarious, and filled with such great characters.  I think my favorite characters have to be Hearth and Blitz.  Of course, Magnus is hilarious, and I love Alex Fierro.

This book was such a fun read, and if you haven’t read it or started the series yet, I highly recommend that you do!

So there you have it!  My six favorite reads of 2016!  I’m so excited for the new year and all of the things it will bring with it (especially all of the books!).  Let me know what your favorite reads were this year!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

