How I Handle Writer’s Block

Writer’s block is something that we all face at one point or another.  You’re going along smoothly, excited about your story, and getting lots done when you suddenly hit a wall.

That wall can seem enormous and overpowering at times, but I’ve found that a few easy tricks will typically bring it down.  So I thought that for today’s blog post,  I would share these tricks with you all!

Take a day off

It’s easy to get into the pattern of writing every day with no breaks and no excuses.  And that’s great!  That’s what the pros do.  But, like it or not, sometimes our brains just need a break.  If you’re constantly using and depleting your creativity, then eventually you’re going to run out.  And that results in writer’s block

That isn’t a big tragedy, though.  I’ve found that it just takes a day off where I don’t think about writing and focus on other things to refill my creativity.  The next day, I’ll be full of ideas and ready to go again!

Take a break and do something different

If you really don’t want to take a day off, then maybe just take a small break.  Doing something completely different and not allowing myself to think about my writing while I do it allows myself to hit restart and feel refreshed.

I find that doing an activity like going on a walk, cleaning up, or working out really helps.  I think just because it gets you up and moving, but it’s not too overwhelming to your senses.  Sometimes, the greatest ideas will strike when I’m cleaning up my room!

Make a list of “big things” that need to happen

If you’re more of a plotter who has everything figured out, this may not work for you.  But if you lean toward being an pantser, like me, this really does wonders.  I do this whenever I reach a point where I know what I want to happen eventually, but I’m not sure how to get there.

By “big things” I mean pivotal events that happen in the plot, important characters that get introduced, and things like that.  Seeing it all laid out in my notebook help me get inspiration on how to move past that wall and go forward with the story.

Set the story aside

If you just keep hitting writer’s block after writer’s block, maybe it’s time to set whatever you’re working on aside and start something new.  Now, I don’t mean to do this if you are only having writer’s block every now and then.  That’s normal.  And I also don’t mean to do this if you are just struggling to sit down and work.  Feeling like your writing has become a chore after a certain point is normal, too, and pushing past that is what all of the professional writers have learned how to do.

I mean to do this if every time you sit down you hit writer’s block.  If you’re working incredibly hard but nothing comes of it.  This is kind of a last resort step, so think really hard about this before you do it.  Getting into the habit of tossing a story aside as soon as it gets boring or becomes work is not productive at all.  But, with that said, I have done this before, and it actually does work.  What I was writing then wasn’t what I was meant to be writing.  As soon as I put the first story away and started on the second, all the creativity, motivation, and inspiration that I had been lacking came back in full force.  And it stayed that way.  I figured that the first story just wasn’t the one I was meant to be working on at that moment.

Don’t go back and don’t be a perfectionist

Last but not least, don’t go back to edit and don’t be a perfectionist.  If you go back to edit before you’re done with the first draft, you’ll see all of the flaws rather than the good points of your story.  Which isn’t fair, because you haven’t even reached the end and given yourself enough time to fully develop your story.

Also, don’t be a perfectionist while you’re writing.  Don’t constantly worry if what you’re doing is good enough, fits perfect, is worded perfectly, etc.  You can always go back and edit once you’re done, and you’ll know about your story and what needs to change then.  So, even if you think something might not work or you’re worried about how good your description is, go ahead and put it in.  It’s probably better than you think, and, even if it isn’t, you’ll avoid building a wall of worry that keeps you from moving forward.

And those are my tips!  Thanks so much for reading!  I hope this helped!  Let me know if you do any of these or have any other tricks that help you with writer’s block!

Leave a Reply

