My List of New Things to Try

I’ve been feeling a little stuck lately.  Not in a bad way, I don’t hate my life or anything, but everything seems stagnant.

And while it’s important to accept where you are in life and be happy with what you have in any given moment, there’s nothing wrong with adding something a little different in the mix every now and then.

I would love to spontaneously go on some big adventure and get way out of my comfort zone, but that’s not always realistic.  Big adventures that really shake up your life typically take a lot of time, money, and energy.  So they aren’t always realistic.  In fact, they’re probably not realistic most of the time.

But that doesn’t mean I have to sit around waiting for something big to happen before I add new things to my life.  When I started thinking about it, I realized that there are lots of little things I can try everyday.  They may not be life changing, but they can add something different to my regular routine.

So, without further ado, here’s my list of 20 new things to try!

1. Listen to new music

Sometimes, I get stuck listening to the same music or same types of music.  Trying a new genre or artist is a great way to get out of that rut.  For example, I’ve recently been listening to a lot of musicals and movie soundtracks, so maybe it’s time to branch out.  Rock and roll?  Sure.  Rap?  Why not?  And, you never know, I may find my new favorite artist!

2. Try a new work out

The last few times I worked out, I did the same routine.  It would be fun to put that one aside for a little bit and find something different.  I’m interested in yoga, so I’ve been thinking of finding a yoga routine for beginners on YouTube and trying that.  Or maybe I’ll borrow some of my Dad’s weights and try using them.

3. Eat something new

I’ve never been the most adventurous of eaters, so I know there’s a lot of foods out there that I’ve never tried before.  Doing this would be a quick, simple, but fun way of getting out of my comfort zone.

4. Do a DIY project I’ve never done

With Christmas coming up, the next two months are the perfect time to try this one out.  I don’t do a lot of DIY stuff in general, so this is perfect to change up my routine and make some fun gifts for family and friends.

5. Read a book from a genre that I don’t typically reach for

I read a lot, but I always find myself reaching for the same genres.  Classics and YA fantasy (with a little YA contemporary mixed in every now and then).  I’ve bought some non-fiction books over the past few months that I’m excited to read.  Also, I can’t remember the last murder mystery I read.  I don’t even know if I’ve ever read one.  (Which is hilarious considering I wrote a series of short stories that revolve around a murder!)  Picking any of those types of books up is a great chance for me to change up my reading routine.

6. Try a new arty thing

By “arty thing” I mean something like drawing or painting.  I’m not very good at art.  Because of that, it’s rare that I try something art-related just for the fun of it without worrying about whether it turns out good or not.  Doing art will be a great opportunity to relax, have fun, and remind myself that it doesn’t have to turn out perfect.

7. Take an Instagram picture in a new way

I enjoy Instagram a lot.  I love taking pictures, and I like seeing other people’s pictures.  While I’m admittedly not the best at it, I still get a lot of fun from it.  I figured that taking a picture of something I might not immediately think to photograph or taking one in a different way would be a fun, quick way to add something new and creative to my day.

8. Try a new hairstyle

I don’t typically spend a lot of time on my hair in the morning.  And, when I do something with it besides letting it air dry in the morning, I usually just pull it back.  I thought that trying a new hairstyle would be something new but also be fun and make me feel good about my hair that day.

9. Try a new makeup look

Unlike my hair, I love doing makeup.  There’s something relaxing about it.  It’s kind of a form of self-expression for me, and it’s also nice to put that time toward myself.  Trying a new look is something that I always look forward to, whether it’s trying a new eyeshadow style or a new lip color.  This one is something I’ve done before and know that it’ll be fun.

10. Watch a new movie

This one might be a little obvious, but I still wanted to include it.  I tend to get stuck watching the same shows and movies on Netflix, so trying something I’ve never seen before is entertaining, new, and relaxing!

11. Watch a new YouTube channel

Like Netflix, I get stuck watching the same things on YouTube, so mixing things up and trying a brand new YouTube channel that I’ve never seen anything from seems like a good idea.

12. Wear something new or in a different way

I like the idea of going to the store, finding something that you don’t normally wear, buying it, and seeing how you feel about it.  But, if you don’t have the time to go shopping and/or you don’t want to spend money on that, another idea that goes along with this is to style something you already have in a brand new way.  Go on Pinterest and see how other people style similar things and go crazy!  You may find a great way to wear something you already own!

13. Go to a store I’ve never been to

There’s always going to be somewhere in your city that you haven’t been to.  Spontaneously taking a trip there and looking around is an opportunity to have a fun little adventure.

14. Go on a walk that I’ve never been on

When I go on walks, I have two routes that I choose between.  And, while they’re both enjoyable, it’s fun every now and then to go on a route that I’ve never taken.  Even if it’s just the difference of one street, it still adds something new to something routine.

15. Learn a new word/phrase in a different language

I love learning languages.  It’s fun and expands your mind.  So, next time you feel bored or stuck, go learn something new to say!

16. Try a new drink at Starbucks (or whatever coffee shop I go to)

I’ve ordered the same thing at the Starbucks I go to so often that one of the baristas has memorized it.  So changing things up and maybe trying that green tea latte that I’ve been eyeing seems like a good idea.

17. Do something completely spontaneous

This one is for those days when I feel like just doing whatever first pops into my head.  Sometimes spontaneity is the best cure for boredom!  So, just think, “What do I want to do right now?”  Then, go off and do the first thing you think of!

18. Research something I don’t know much about

I love learning new things, as you probably guessed from #15.  But, there are a lot of things I don’t know as much about as I would like to.  I thought it would be fun to go online and Google whatever I’m interested in and just read up on it for a little bit.  For example, I love the Percy Jackson series, and, because of that, I know a good amount of Greek mythology.  But I don’t know many details about what daily life was like for those people.  I also think the 1920’s was such an interesting time period, and I would love to learn more!  So, next time I need something new, I might look into one of those things!

19. Write something different

I’m over 40,000 words deep into a high-fantasy novel that I’m writing.  Over the last few months, most of my creative writing has gone into that.  I still love it, but it has become much more like work in the last month.  To refresh my mind and creativity, I want to try writing something I’ve never written before.  Nothing massive that I couldn’t get done in an hour.  One thing I’ve thought of trying is poetry.  I’ve never written much of it, so I think it would be a fun, quick thing to try!

20. Do something nice for someone

Not that being nice isn’t always important, but, if you’re feeling like you’re in a rut, sometimes the best cure is to help out someone else.  This could mean doing something like going and volunteering for an afternoon somewhere.  It could also mean helping my mother with an extra chore around the house or just giving someone a compliment.  Kindness always goes a long way.

That’s it!  Let me know if you have any things you do when you feel like spicing up your normal routines.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

