Favorite Quotes from Favorite Books

For today’s post, I thought I would share some of my favorite quotes from some of my favorite books.  Most of these quotes are from old old favorites, but there are a few from more recent ones.

Life is worth living as long as there’s a laugh in it. – Anne of Green Gables

Anne of Green Gables is one of my all-time favorite books.  It’s probably the book that I’ve re-read the most in my life.  I absolutely love this book, and I think this quote is beautiful.

I am haunted by humans. – The Book Thief

I read The Book Thief earlier this year, and it was one of those books that really touches you.  I sobbed while reading the last section of it.  Not only were the writing and plot both great, the subject matter was heartbreaking and thought-provoking.  Long story short, I adore this book, and this quote is one of many that I love.

I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will. – Jane Eyre

I have to admit that it’s been a long time since I read Jane Eyre.  Because of that, I don’t quite remember where in the book this quote was, but that doesn’t mean I don’t find it to be any less powerful.  Jane Eyre has been such an important story in my life.  I watched one of the movie versions with my mom when I was in middle school, and I liked it so much that I immediately read the book.  There are so many good memories that I associate with this book because of that, and I will always think of it as one of my favorite books.

So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past. – The Great Gatsby

This quote is a little depressing, which is fitting, because The Great Gatsby is depressing.  I decided to include it, because, as a writer, I was very inspired by it.  F. Scott Fitzgerald’s writing is gorgeous, heartbreaking, and everything that I want my writing to be.

Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light. – Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

I know that this is a line that everyone quotes, and it’s not very original.  I couldn’t help myself.  Those words are so hopeful and true, and they make me very happy.  It also helps that Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite book from the series.

Not all those who wander are lost. – The Fellowship of the Ring

The Lord of the Rings series is very much like Jane Eyre in that it was very important to my life.  I actually read the series right before I read Jane Eyre.  These books are the first books I read that had a complicated world that the author had designed.  Reading them made me want to create my own fantasy world, which I’m finally doing in my current work in progress!

Yes, of course duct tape works in a near-vacuum.  Duct tape works anywhere.  Duct tape is magic and should be worshiped. – The Martian

The Martian was the first book I read in 2016, and, despite, reading  lot of other great books since then, it’s still my favorite of anything I’ve read so far this year.  There’s actually a different quote from the end of the book that I love a little more and that is inspiring, but I didn’t include that because it has a curse word and also gives away the ending.  Despite that, though, I still think this quote is great and I laughed out loud when I first read it.

You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you. – Pride and Prejudice

I saved the best for last.  Pride and Prejudice is definitely toward the top of the list of my favorite books, if it isn’t in the first spot.  The scene that this quote is from is one of my favorite scenes in the book.  Also, Mr. Darcy is one of the best characters ever, and no one will ever be able to convince me otherwise.

That’s it for today!  If you have any quotes that you like, let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

