Favorite Soundtracks

I listen to movie soundtracks all the time.  I find them to be perfect for when you’re doing something but still want to have music in the background.  I particularly listen to them when I’m reading or writing.  And since I love soundtracks so much, I thought it would be fun to share my favorites with you all.

So, without further ado, here are eight of my favorite movie soundtracks!

Cloud Atlas

Capture.PNG

Despite having never seen this movie, this soundtrack is something that I love listening to.  All of the songs are great, especially if you’re reading/writing something more action-packed, but my favorite song has to be Cloud Atlas End Title.  It’s eight minutes long, beautiful, and a little bit nostalgic.

The Imitation Game

Capture 2.PNG

First off, if you haven’t seen this movie, go watch it right now!  The story is interesting and moving.  Also, it has Benedict Cumberbatch in it, which, as far as I’m concerned, automatically makes it amazing.

Second, the music is so great.  It’s beautiful and, when you know the movie’s story, it’s a little heartbreaking.

Jane Eyre

Capture 3.PNG

Jane Eyre is a story that’s really close to my heart and one of my all time favorite books.  I watched the 1943 movie version with my mom when I was in middle school.  I read the book soon after.  I hadn’t seen this version of the movie until earlier this year when I found it on Netflix, but as soon as I watched it I fell in love.  The music is gorgeous and relaxing.  I especially like listening to it when I’m reading a classic.

Pride and Prejudice

Capture 4.PNG

Just like Jane Eyre, Pride and Prejudice is a story that I’ve loved for a long time.  And, just like The Imitation Game, if you haven’t seen this movie, go see it now!  Keira Knightley is perfect as Elizabeth, the cinematography is gorgeous, and the music is the icing on the cake.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Capture 5.PNG

All of the Harry Potter movies are great, and all have really pretty music.  But, I think the soundtrack that I enjoy the most is the one from the first movie.  It has such a nostalgic, magical feeling to it.

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Capture 6.PNG

Fun fact: when I was in middle school, I was obsessed with The Lord of the Rings.  I saw all of the movies multiple times, read all of the books, knew random pieces of trivia about it, and listened to the soundtrack all the time.  Now, I play the soundtrack when I’m reading or writing something action-packed.  Like Harry Potter, I love all of the movies and their music, but the first one has to be my favorite and the one I play the most.

Inception

Capture 7.PNG

Another movie that has great music for action-packed stories is Inception.  I like all of the songs, but my favorite one has to be Time.  It’s gorgeous and kind of reminds me of Cloud Atlas End Title from the Cloud Atlas soundtrack, because it has the same kind of feel to it.

Stranger Things

Capture 8.PNG

This isn’t a movie, but I had to include it anyway.  If you follow me on Twitter, you would know that I recently watched Stranger Things, and I’m a little bit obsessed with it.  Not only is the plot and acting stellar, the music ties it all together perfectly.  It’s a nice mix of retro, action-packed, and creepy.  I actually listened to it while writing this blog post!

There you have my favorite soundtracks!  If you have listened to them or you’re going to listen to them, I would love to hear about it!  Also, leave a comment telling me what your favorite movie soundtrack is!

2 thoughts on “Favorite Soundtracks

  1. S. M. Metzler says:

    Great list! I too love listening to film scores throughout the day, as well as when I’m writing. I’ve never listened to soundtracks from Cloud Atlas or Stranger Things before (probably because I’ve never seen them) but now I’ll have to check them out. Awesome post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

