Where I Find Inspiration for Writing

Hey!

I thought that for today’s blog post, I would tell you all a little bit about where I get inspiration and ideas for my writing!  I hope you enjoy these tips, and maybe they’ll help you!

Reading

I get so many ideas while I’m reading.  And, obviously, I’m not saying to read something and plagiarize it.  What I mean is that seeing what other people do in their works helps me to realize the things I want to do in mind.  So, maybe, I like the tone of the book and it gives me a feeling for the kind of tone I want in my writing.  Or maybe a story has an unreliable narrator.  If I think that’s cool, I’ll probably want to try writing a story of my own with an unreliable narrator.

Not only can you see what you like, you can see what you don’t like, and that’s almost just as important.  Also, reading is great to see what kind of books are out there and to see what people are buying.  That can help you tailor your own story to be a little more market-friendly.

Writing Down My Ideas

I’m guessing that most people already do this, but whenever I have an idea, I write it down.  It doesn’t matter what kind of idea it is.  Whether it’s a name I like, something I saw during my day that I thought was cool, a piece of dialogue that popped into my head, or anything else like these are all important.  Writing things down is great, because, even if it’s unrelated to whatever story you’re working on or it’s not even elated to writing, you can still read it later and get some kind of inspiration from it.

Keeping these ideas in one spot where you can easily find them again is really important, because you don’t want to have to go looking through everything to find something.  Also, you may have forgotten writing something down.  If you don’t put it in a place you’ll look at again, you might have missed out on an idea that would have led to something great.  For me, that place is a notebook where I keep all of my notes for things that I’m currently writing and have recently written.  I have a small part of it sectioned off just for ideas.  That way, when it’s time to start working on something new, I can go through them and avoid starting completely from scratch.

Writing Prompts

This is kind of similar to writing down things, but, one thing I like to do when I need some help coming up with something to write about, I’ll go through several writing prompts and find one I like.  Then, I’ll start jotting down things that the prompt made me think of, and, soon enough I’ll have a great thought for a new story!

You don’t have to go out and buy a book of writing prompts if this is something you think would help you.  Almost all of the writing prompts I’ve ever looked at have been online, specifically Pinterest.  You can find some interesting ones there!

Listening to Music

I mentioned this in a post where I talked about songs I’ve been listening to while writing.  In fact, I got the idea for a story that I’m currently working on by listening to Viva La Vida by Coldplay.  I like to listen to music before I got to bed sometimes, so I’ll turn something on, close my eyes, and start daydreaming.

Thinking of What I’m Afraid of

I read somewhere that someone (I can’t remember who, sorry) said that you should write what you’re afraid of.  That way, the fears that the characters have in the story will be that much more real to you and, therefore, more real to the readers.  I love doing this, especially because I have a very vivid (sometimes too vivid) imagination.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been lying in bed in the middle of the night  imagining all sorts of horrible, terrifying things that could happen.  Taking those fears and imaginings and turning them into stories is extremely easy and will probably interest whoever reads the story!

Those are all the tips that I have for you today!  I hope you like them!  If you find inspiration from any of these, let me know in the comments!  Also, if you have any ways that you get inspiration that aren’t in this list, I would love to hear about them!

Thanks so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

