What I’m Listening to While Writing

Hi there!

I thought that I would do a fun post today about the music I’ve been listening to while writing.  I love listening to music while writing because it really helps to put me in whatever mood the story requires.

I’m currently working on a story that is in the very, very beginnings of a first draft.  And because it’s in such an early state, I’m not going to say anything specific about it.  I will say, however, that I’ve been describing it to the few people I’ve told about it as a “darker fantasy”.

So, all of the music that I’m going to tell you about is on the playlist that I listen to while writing that.  I listen to these songs for various reasons, for some the lyrics make me think of specific things that happen in the story, others they just get me in the mood.  One disclaimer, I definitely do not think of myself as having super great taste in music.  If you’re a music nerd then just keep that in mind!

Also, there isn’t any specific reason for the order I’ve put them in.  There just in the order that I wrote them down in.

Anyway, without further ado, here are the songs!

Viva La Vida by Coldplay

This song is a little bit different from the other ones in the fact that it doesn’t really help to put me in the kind of dark, sad mood that my story has.  It’s included on my playlist and on this list, though because I came up with the idea for the story while listening to this song.

My mom likes this song, and I remember her showing it to me when it first came out telling me how she thought it was really good.  Because of that, I have really happy memories associated with it.  So, one day earlier this year I was listening to it and daydreaming, and that’s how I got the initial inspiration for my story.

Glory and Gore by Lorde

I’ve been loving listening to Lorde’s songs while writing this story, and I have several of her songs on my playlist.  But, Glory and Gore was the first one I put on there and also probably the one I’ve listened to most.

Not Today by Imagine Dragons

I absolutely love this song.  It’s been stuck in my head for the last couple of days.  It’s a really beautiful mix of sad and poignant.  It’s really great to write to, except for the fact that I want to sing along with it whenever I hear it.

Also, side note, it’s even more sad when you think about the story of Me Before You while listening to it.  I haven’t seen the movie, but I have read the book.  The story was so heartbreaking, and I cried a lot while reading it.

Under the Table by Banks

This song is one of my favorites.  It’s so beautiful, and I love how it goes from being soft to loud to soft again.  The lyrics don’t really relate to what my story is about, but the overall sad tone it has definitely does.

Just a Game by Birdy

I love Birdy, she’s one of my favorite artists.  I have yet to hear a song of hers that I haven’t really liked.  This song puts me in the perfect mood and it’s great to write to!

That’s it for today!  Once I’m further along in my story and I’ve added even more songs to my playlist, I’ll make another one of this kind of post!

I hope you enjoyed it!  If you have any song recommendations for me, leave a comment!  I would love to hear it!

Thanks so much for reading!

One thought on “What I’m Listening to While Writing

Leave a Reply

